Expansion and Realignment Part 2

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

 The current Eastern Conference will once again return to the Prince of Wales conference, and will maintain the Prince of Wales Trophy for the regular season champion of that division.  It will house the following divisions: Lemieux (Ottawa, Montreal, Toronto, Halifax), Adams (Buffalo, Boston, Philadelphia, Pittsburgh), and Patrick (NYR, NYI, New Jersey, Washington). 

 The current Western Conference will return to the days of the Clarence Campbell Conference, and will keep the Clarence Campbell Bowl for the regular season victor.  This conference will keep one of its old Divisions, the Smythe (Vancouver, Winnipeg, Calgary, Edmonton).  Joining the Smythe division will be the Gretzky (Anaheim, San Jose, Los Angeles, Seattle), and Plante (Las Vegas, Pheonix, Colorado, Dallas). 

 The new Central Conference will be named the Gordie Howe Conference, and a new trophy, the Gordie Howe Memorial Trophy will be presented to the team with the best overall regular season record.  The Howe Conference will be composed of the old Norris Division (Minnesota, St. Paul, Detroit, Chicago), and will be joined by Orr (Nashville, St. Louis, Oklahoma, Columbus), and Ross (Carolina, Florida, Tampa Bay, Atlanta).

Not wanting to lengthen the regular season beyond the current 82 game schedule, the following guide would be implemented with the new league format.  . 

Teams will face the teams in their divisions 8 times each, four home and four away.  This will help foster old rivalries, and strive to create new ones.  This will amount to 24 games of a teams schedule. 

Intra-conference games will be played at a rate of 5 games per team, 3 home and 2 away (alternating from year to year to balance the extra game).  This will amount to 40 games on the team schedule, 20 home and 20 away.  For example, for a Boston Bruins/Montreal Canadiens schedule, in year one of the new system, three games will be played in Boston, two in Montreal.  The following year, three games will be played in Montreal, two in Boston.   

Inter-conference games will be limited to 18 games per season, nine home and nine away.  This will amount to a 4/5 split between opposing conferences that will rotate on a year to year basis.  For example, a Prince of Wales Conference team will play 4 Howe Conference teams, and five Clarence Campbell teams.  The following year it would be 5 Howe and 4 Clarence Campbell teams. 

The point system would be restructured for the regular season games.  Regulation wins and wins occurring in the five minute overtime would be 3 points for the winner, 0 points for the loser.  If a team goes to the shootout, 2 points would be awarded to the winner, and 1 point to the loser. 

 Stay tuned for Part Three of my expansion and realignment phase as I outline the post season structure!

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

Tags: Clarence Campbell Expansion Gordie Howe Mario Lemiux NHL Prince Of Wales Realignment Regular Season Stanley Cup Wayne Gretzky

  • lonewolf3388

    Since the “traditionalists” have always grumbled about the “loser point” I’ve thought about the three point regulation win too, but I feel as soon as it goes to OT it should be two for win and one for lose. My reasoning is that being tied after 60 minutes has always gotten a team one point in the pre-OT days so the old timers (like me) should be happy

  • http://www.sabrenoise.com Tim Redinger


    I thought about that too…but I would rather see teams play in overtime like they needed to get the point instead of holding out hopes for the skills competition that follows.

    I am not one to condone the shootout, I think its a gimmick, but I couldnt see putting ties back into the sport, and the season is too long for teams to play until completion.

  • lonewolf3388

    Just my feeling, Tim, but I think they play so wide open in OT because both teams have one point in their pocket and nothing to lose. Just a second point to gain so it tends to be all out. To me if it’s all or nothing you see them playing more to not lose than to win just to get to that shootout point.

  • Pingback: Hey, NHL, Leave Pronger Alone | Broad Street Buzz | A Philadelphia Flyers Blog