Celebrating 40 Years: 1980s Captains

The 1970s captaincy drew to a close with the 1982 season, when Danny Gare relinquished the “C”.  From 1982 to 1991, the Buffalo Sabres were led by only three men.

1982 to 1987 Gilbert Perreault

Despite being dubbed The Original Sabres, a moniker he received by being the teams first ever draft pick, Perreault played for 12 years before donning the role of team captain.  He wore the coveted letter for the final five years of his career, the entire 17 years played wearing blue and gold.

1987-1989 Lindy Ruff

Before he was the longest tenured coach in NHL and Sabres history, Lindy Ruff spent time leading the team from the ice.  After a career that was riddled with injury, Ruff resigned as the captain of the Buffalo Sabres after being benched for a game against the Vancouver Canucks.  Lindy currently receives criticism for his failure to be strict with his captains, with the thought that he feels strongly about that situation.

1989-1991 Mike Foligno

To round out the ’80s the Sabres handed the reigns of the team over to another fan favorite, Mike “jumping mike” Foligno.  Famous for his ability to jump to celebrate every single goal that he ever scored.  He accomplished this feat 355 times in the NHL, so there was plenty of jumping for all fans to enjoy.

The Foligno jump has even transcended generations, when Mike’s son Nick kicked his heels up for his first NHL tally.

Next Sabres Game Full schedule »
Wednesday, Oct 2222 Oct7:30at Anaheim DucksBuy Tickets

Tags: Buffalo Captains Danny Gare Gilbert Perreault Lindy Ruff Mike Foligno Sabres

comments powered by Disqus