Timothy T. Ludwig-USA TODAY Sports

Buffalo Sabres Hall of Fame Induction: Dominik Hasek

The Buffalo Sabres Hall of Fame selection committee announced today that Dominik Hasek will be officially added to the roster of Hall of Fame inductees.

Hasek becomes the 42nd member of the Hall of Fame, and will be officially inducted on March 29, 2014.  The induction ceremony will take place before the teams game against the Tampa Bay Lightning at First Niagara Center.

Hasek appeared in 491 games for the Buffalo Sabres and held several franchise records upon his departure.

  • Most games played (491)
  • Most wins (234)
  • Shutouts (55)
  • Lowest career goals against average (2.22)

Dominik Hasek is one of the most decorated goaltenders in Sabres and NHL history.

  • Hart Trophy (1997, 1998)
  • Vezina Trophy (1994, 1995, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2001)
  • William M Jennings Trophy (1994, 2001)
  • Lester B Pearson Award (1997, 1998)
  • Stanley Cup (2002, 2008)

Dominik Hasek has an illustrious International resume as well.  On top of all the hardware he accumulated in the National Hockey League he has an Olympic gold meda (1998-Nagano), an Olympic bronze medal (2006 – Turin).  He helped the Czech Republic to silver in three World Junior Championships (1982 Minnesota, 1983 Leningrad,1985 Helsinki/Turku).  He has four World Championship medals as well.  1983 in West Germany was a silver medal, and then bronze in the 1987 Vienna games, 1989 Stockholm games, and the 1990 Berne/Fribourg games.

When he retired from the NHL in 2008, Hasek finished with 389 career wins, and also ranked inside the top 10 in several statistical categories, including highest career save percentage (.922), most games played by a European born goaltender (735), most career shutouts (81) and lowest career goals-against average (2.13).

Dominik Hasek was acquired by the Buffalo Sabres on August 7, 1992 and remained with the team until he was traded in the 2000-2001 season to the Detroit Red Wings.

The Sabres Hall of Fame Committee is made up of Scott Bowman (member), Seymour Knox IV, Kevin Gavagan, Jim Lorentz (member), Michael Gilbert, John Murphy, Bucky Gleason, Wayne RedShaw (member), Bill Hajt (member), Jeff Russo, Ed Kilgore, Floyd Smith, and Peter Andrews.

Original inductee’s into the hall of fame include Frank Christie, Roger Crozier, and George “Punch” Imlach.

Induction into the Hall of Fame first – will we see the number 39 raised to the rafters shortly there after?

Next Sabres Game Full schedule »
Wednesday, Oct 2222 Oct7:30at Anaheim DucksBuy Tickets

Tags: Buffalo Sabres Dominik Hasek Hall Of Fame

comments powered by Disqus